Glass Industry to be saluted, oldest employee to be recognized, lists several OI officials attending


Publication: The Muncie Sunday Star

Muncie, IN, United States
col. 7



Oldest Employe Will Be

Accorded High Honors.

The question "who is the oldest employe of the glass industry in eastern Indiana in point of continuous service with one company" will be answered at the anuual spring dinner meeting of the Muncie Chamber of Commerce at 6:30 o'clock Wednesday night, May 18 at the Masonic Temple. Whoever this employe is will be revealed and he will be the honored guest.

Henry L. Fink, chairman of the chamber's forum committee, in charge of the dinner meeting, has written every plant executive heading a glass factory or allied industry in the eastern Indiana section, extending, invitation to be the chamber's special guest for this year's meeting. Mr. Fink's committee has agreed that the dinner is to be held in recognition of the glass industry of this section.


Mailing Invitations.


The committee has already heard from Phil Hanna, editor of the Chicago Journal of Commerce, who is to be the principal speaker. H. F. Guthrie, president of the Chamber of Commerce, will be the master of ceremonies for the event. Members of the chamber, their wives and guests will be invited. Invitations will be mailed to all members on Monday, May 9. Tickets for the dinner may be bought up to 5 o'clock Tuesday afternoon, May 17, at the chamber office. Tickets will not be sold on Wednesday.

Capt. G. W. Wagner, of the Masonic Temple Association, will have charge of the dinner arrangements. Miss Reba Bennett. Miss Gertrude Barrett, Miss Mary Lincoln, and Miss Esther Weir, will be in charge of the flag and floral decorations.

Prof. Claude Palmer, of Ball State College, will provide the music for the occasion, and Dr. William E. Steckel, pastor of the First Presbyterian Church, is to give the invocation. Joseph T. Meredith, former chamber president, will lead the audience in singing the national anthem. The chamber board of directors will constitute the reception committee, and other committees are to be announced.


Special Guests Listed.


Chairman Fink yesterday announced the list of special guests, who are as follows: Frank C. Ball, president, and George A. Ball, vice-president, Ball Brothers Co., Muncie; Robert H. Myers, vice president, Indiana Bankers Association, Muncie; J. M. Foster, president, Foster-Glass Co., Frank, L. Paul, general manager, Canton Glass Co., both of Marion; T. C. Werbe. president. Lynch Corporation, Anderson; John M. Slick, president, Slick Glass Co., Gas City; William E. Levis, president; R. H. Barnard, vice president; Harold Boeschenstein, vice president; F. J. Solon, vice president and general sales manager; W. P. Zimmermann, general manager I. and S. Products division, Owens-Illinois Glass Co., Toledo; Carl H. Smith, plant manager, and M. K. Holmes, manager, insulator division, Owens-Illinois Glass Co., Muncie; C. P. Overmyer, president Overmyer Mould Co., Winchester; Charles L. Gaunt, president, Indiana Glass Co., Francis H. May, president, Hart Glass Co., both of Dunkirk; A. C. Crimel, president, Sneath, Glass Co., J. P. Johnson, Jr., president, Johnson Glass Co., George L. Fulton, president, Fulton Glass Co., W. C. Niece, general manager, American Window Glass Co., all of Hartford City; Thomas M. Collins, manager, Owens-Illinois Glass Co., Gas City; S. R. Mattnews, manager Sterling Glass Co., Lapel, and Paul Herschfield, manager, Anchor Hocking Glass Co., Winchester.

Keywords:Hemingray : Owens-Illinois Glass Company
Researcher notes: 
Supplemental information:Article: 4455 Article: 4476 Article: 4477 Article: 4490 Article: 1716
Researcher:Roger Lucas / Bob Stahr
Date completed:September 3, 2009 by: Bob Stahr;